Uncategorized

We Are At War

To successfully fulfill the Great Commission, we must realize the seriousness of our task. This is not a joyride (although following God can be fun). This isn’t some camping trip that parks by a pretty lake to sing songs. It is a war for the souls of mankind. It is, a struggle that will require hard work, communication, and strategy to win. But through Christ, we have the victory. We just need to fight the good fight of faith.

So, since we are at war, it is crucial that we know to fight successfully. Over the course of these next few articles, I hope to begin to paint a clear picture of what it means to be as Paul put it in 2 Timothy 2:3 “a good soldier of Jesus Christ.” I want to look at historical battles to gain insight into what works and what doesn’t work. We can learn a lot from these battles that can help us win our war of love.

I think a good starting point is simply this: Why would we go to war in the first place? What are we fighting for? For me, the answer is clear and contains two parts. First, we do this to honor our glorious Savior. He has done so much for us. Despite our sin, He came to our fallen world to die for those sins. After rising again, he commissioned His disciples to help Him restore broken men, women, and children and give them an opportunity to experience the abundant life He has for them.

That leads me to the second reason I fight: I love the people God loves. They are special to Him. This task demands my best. I do not want millions to step into eternity without a good chance of knowing Him. People need to know that there is a God who loves them and has a great plan for their lives. I fight for them. I will not surrender.

So I train with the Word, I learn how to defend and attack. I avoid capture. I communicate and strategize. In short, with Jesus’ help, I win!

Leave a Reply

