Uncategorized

Everyone is a Minister (part 2)

In my last post, I began discussing the concept of everyone being a minister of the gospel right where they are, regardless of theological education, past experience, or professional skill. Peter recognized this and addressed the church in his epistles. We explored the concept of holiness and being set apart. Today, we take it a step further.

In 1 Peter 2:2 we read:

As newborn babes, desire the sincere milk of the word, that ye may grow thereby.

A key to any move of God done through us His people is that we desire the Word. We must place the Bible at the center of everything we do. We cannot grow as believers or hope to reach the world for Jesus if we do not commit to reading the Word, understanding it, and making its commands and principles the only things that guide and shape our lives.

I will not act surprised by the fact that people who call themselves Christians act like the world. That is nothing new. What saddens me most is when supposedly committed followers of Christ (even pastors) act like the world six days a week (5 and a half if the church has Wednesday services) and then show up to church declaring their complete devotion to God. I can’t say I’m perfect myself. I don’t spend as much time with God as He deserves. But my goal is to become more like Jesus each day and not just have him as part of my identity, buried alongside my favorite television show. I am part of the “chosen generation” and I need to show that to follow Jesus is to be committed to a journey that demands that you give up your identity in exchange for His.

Later in 1 Peter, we read about speaking as “the oracles of God.” This to me says that our ultimate role as believers is to be so filled with God that his desires become our desires and that we walk so close to Him that when we speak, people experience Jesus’ love and power to transform. Once we get to this point, we start to become the salt and light that Jesus wants us to be.

Leave a Reply

